July 2012


Monroe, Wa. - July 23, 2012 – Evergreen Drift ProAM returned to Evergreen Speedway for Round 4. Rob Primo in the John Reed Racing Ten Gun Nissan S15 takes the victory.


Round 4 at Evergreen Speedway took place in front of the sold out Formula Drift crowd continuing the successful growth of drifting in the Northwest.


Attrition was the enemy of the day on this hot July afternoon. Several drivers were unable to make it to the line in time for their battles, proving that vehicle reliability is just as important as driver consistency on the vicious high-speed bank of Evergreen Speedway. Top 4 competition saw three local drivers and one out of towner fill up the slots. Nik Jimenez, the points leader coming into Round 4 was to square off against Rob Primo who was languishing down in the points. Rob presented himself, however Nik's axle failed during a warmup burnout, leaving him done for the day. San Diego native Tyler Wolfson squared off against local driver Michael Klingele and after Michael collided with Tyler, Wolfson advanced to the top battle against Rob. The third place battle was to see Klingele line up against Jimenez but as Nik was already broken for the day that handed Klingele in the Intec racing V8 FC RX-7 his first podium spot of the year. The final battle ended with a similar fate. Due to mechanical failure with the collision against Klingele, Wolfson was unable to stage up against Primo. Judges determined that for the win to be official Rob must lay down one run through the course. Not willing to just take a casual victory lap, instead Rob Primo slayed the 5/8th's bank unleashing the full fury of his 550hp 2JZ for all the fans to enjoy. And with that mega run Rob claimed the top step of the podium and his first podium of 2012.


This win boosts Rob to 3rd place in points and tightens the gap with only a few points separating the competition on their way to becoming the next Evergreen Drift ProAM Champion. The Evergreen Drift ProAM Championship continues with Round 5 August 26th at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Wa.